The Doba scam my DOBA Review

Rating: ★★★½☆Is their really a Doba scam going on ? That depends on who you ask about this company . In my opinion www.doba.com provides a service that has the potential to be a great leader in the e-commerce industry, but the service has been clouded with misguided information and some times out right lies. I was reading on a blog where the owner of Doba spoke out about his company and he said that people come to his company expecting them to be a wholesale company and they are not here is the quote.

“The reason most cited for Doba being a “scam”, is “Doba is not a wholesaler!” Ironically, we never claim to be wholesaler.”

I find this very amusing because if you look on Doba’s website and take the tour they offer in the first 5 seconds you will hear. “What if you could have access to 100s of wholesalers, access to wholesale distributors, many products are cheaper than if you went to the supplier yourself, the wholesale cost of the product.”

True enough Doba may not claim to be a wholesale supplier, but what Doba does do is suggest that you will receive the products at wholesale price if you get them through Doba. In their own words “many products are cheaper than if you went to the supplier yourself because of Dobas buying power”
Sadly this is not true and nowhere near it. I know this from years of working on the internet and taking their free 7 day trial . Unfortunately for most other people they have to find out the hard way.

You can go to the straight to the suppliers and work with them eliminating Doba and their monthly fees. If you think about it does it really make sense to use Doba ?
When you have to pay a monthly fee, a drop shipping fee, and then get products for a higher price than they guy who goes straight to the supplier. I don’t think so.

Look at it this way you go to the drop shipping supplier and have access to a 43in flat screen tv for $500.00 with no drop shipping fees or monthly fees. You sell it for $600.00 you just made $100.00 Doba has the same tv but it is going to be higher lets say $525.00 you sell it for six hundred dollars you make $75.00, but wait, you have a $10.00 drop shipping fee, and a monthly fee of $45.00 you have to pay. You just made $25.00. Even if you had already paid your monthly fee you would still only have $60.00

To some people who are looking for an easier approach to starting a business and don’t mind losing a few dollars to have an easier solution Doba may be what you are looking for. I honestly do not think Doba and their staff are bad people who are prowling the Internet wanting to steal from everyone in the world. However I do believe they have misrepresented their company and its capabilities as an EBay provider.

My overall Grade for Doba is a C- I will say a few great things about them. Their website is top notch. They have an excellent push to the market tool that can configure with a website or EBay. (Won’t do much good for EBay but it works well.) They also had good support even though he told me their products sold really well . Ha haRating: ★★★½☆

24 comments for “The Doba scam my DOBA Review

  1. August 12, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    I signed up for Doba cost me $100 when I really looked at them I decided it wasn’t for me I called to cancel the second day and they wouldn’t give me my money said I have access for 2 months then after that no more. Since when can’t you cancel a contract after 2 days?

  2. Pyler
    August 27, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Doba is an outright scam plain and simple they took over $1000.00 from me with no services what so ever.

  3. Rusty
    September 3, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I signed up with Doba when they said that they had several suppliers that I could use selling the product that I was promoting, After I signed up I found out that they had no suppliers for this product. I asked for my money back and they refused. I found out later that they are affiated with Thrive Learning Institute which in my opinion his a Scam.

  4. Zeek Goldman
    October 16, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    I signed up for 7 day trial and i found out he is right, dob is total @#$@#.

  5. Cindy
    November 3, 2009 at 1:06 am

    I signed up with Doba and got suckered into 1 YEAR SUBSCRIPTION only to find out their products are priced way too high to make anything. They would not give me a refund after only 3 days of using their site.They are a total SCAM AND A TOTAL BUNCH OF @ %* % # !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! do not fall for their @@@@!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Phoenix
    December 1, 2009 at 10:50 am

    You should post a telephone number if you have one because I am having difficulty finding one. These Jerks charged my account for $39.95 and I have never even heard of them.

  7. Stacey Mobley
    January 11, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    First thank you for your Comments. It has helped.

    Something you might want to look into if you joined and then wanted out. There is a law that stipulates that you can get out of a agreement with in a specified time if you so choose. In this case the company seemingly misdirected you and I am sure that don’t want the States Attorney General on their case.

    Not sure if the law pertains to the internet.

  8. January 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am launching a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business.

  9. Tony
    February 20, 2010 at 2:31 am

    I was thinking about getting into the drop ship business and decided to do some research on the pros and cons. I came across a website product sourcing. The next day I receive a call from DOBA — for the blog that want me to post there phone# –here it is 801-765-6000.

  10. Reviewer
    February 20, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Thank you Tony. Just goes to show that product sourcing, and Doba are the same place.

  11. February 22, 2010 at 2:10 am

    Well I’m glad I came in here. I have been trying to get set up and can not get their products pushed over to E-bay. So I began having second thoughts about this whole thing. First I want everyone to know that I am using the 14day trail period. Second I used a prepaid credit/debit card. So the only money they can get is whats on that card which is $1.00 and I will cancel it and go some where else and get another one somewhere else. So I suggest trying that before giving out your real credit and checking info. That way no one can take your money and if some company wants to give you a hard time you can just cut the card up and tell them your gona go to a real wholesaler like Wal_mart and get another pre-paid card. LOL. And say now cancel that!!! lol ,Ok really does anyone know a real web sit or business similar to Doba and legit. Please let me know.

  12. Michael
    February 23, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    I have been searching for a dropshipping Comp. and i have found Doba to be good but i wanted to see their catalog before giving my credit card, “they said dont worry we have many great products”, I said thats great but do have what i want to sell on the website? Her Response again was” dont worry we have great products” Im backing off of Doba and i never joined, i want to see a catalog before you see my credit card and all of you should do the same. Also they’re from Utah, a big NO NO!! i believe its a Scam beware!!!
    Anyone know of a legit Drop shipping Comp please let me know thanks

  13. March 12, 2010 at 12:57 am

    I used Doba for my Ebay online store, which I found through Ebay. After several weeks I was dropped from Ebay for about 6 months, because, the products that I was selling from Doba had an infringement issue with several of Doba’s product manufactures. After a lengthly battle with Ebay I was reinstated. This cost me my online store as well as the products that I purchased to post on Ebay. Now I would like to continue with a Ebay Store, but I am not shore if Ebay and definitely Doba is the place to go. Neither even contacted me for an apology for making me loss my money. Shame on both companies….

  14. LongBeach
    March 13, 2010 at 2:37 am

    Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now. Keep it up!
    And according to this article, I totally agree with your opinion, but only this time! :)

  15. Mr. T
    March 26, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Thanks guys for confirming my suspicions. When they told me they would not refund my money if I wasn’t happy with the service, I knew it was not legit. I could not get straight answers on a variety of questions. Many of the web developers they referred me to all had scam come up with their name on a google search. Run run run!

  16. Thelma Vinroe
    April 14, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Wow man, that is really helpful information, thanks.

  17. Greg
    January 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Scam? I can’t say. However, Doba claims to be the 23rd fastest growing company on Inc500.
    If you check this you will find that was in 2007. They kind of left that out. Crucial mistake for them to give misleading information that can be verified. And second, I never do business with any company who says they need your credit card information for a free trial. We just met and you want my banking info? Don’t think so!! Would you give that info. to someone you just met on the street?

  18. I am another victim
    February 28, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Doba is really a scam! I have been scammed by it recently. Very bad experience. Just search the word “doba” in Google,and you will find related key words like”doba scam”, and you will know everything.

  19. paul d.
    March 2, 2011 at 12:58 am

    As many have stated, DOBA is absolute bullshit. They’re a retailer posing as a wholesaler. You won’t make money using DOBA. If anyone does’nt believe me, sign up for the trial offer and then check DOBA’s products on ebay. Check the COMPLETED LISTINGS with the advanced search. You’ll see nothing but page after page of unsold DOBA items. DOBA should be called “DOPA”. You’re a dope if you give them your money!

  20. Kent West
    March 4, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Thanks for the great review, you probably just saved me a bunch of money. My Scam-O-Meter was pinned when I saw all of the phoney “reviews” obviously written by Doba employees that come up when you search “Doba review” or Doba scam.

  21. March 23, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Doba dropshipped a wrong item to my Ebay buyer. Doba then told me to have the buyer ship the item back to a San Diego address, which she did. I had to refund the buyer, but Doba did not refund me MY money. When I filed a paypal dispute, I was told that Doba is out of UTAH and claims there is no address in San Diego. So claiming that my item was not returned, Doba won the dispute and scammed me out of $125! and Paypal allowed them to do it. Beware of Doba and their tricks!

  22. Gina
    April 3, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    I’m so so glad I came across this site. I was quite suspicious when my credit card details was asked to gain the 7day free trial. I am grateful for all your comments and advise xo

  23. kamal
    January 3, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    I wish if i saw this website before signing up with Doba. Over a year ago I sidn up with Doba after they refuse to cancel my trail and convince me to get my money back if I don`t make it selling their product. Guess what their product very high that i did`nt seel a sing thing on ebay. I called to cancel before they renew my account. the person was very rude, and refuse to give me my money back because acorrding to her I had to log in every month to get the special (Money back), then hung up on me. Please learn from this and don`t sign up with a scam company like Doba.

  24. Darrell
    January 6, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    WOW and Double WOW, I almost took the leap too Doba and something said take a look at reviews on the web. I am Soooooo glad I listened to the inner voice once again. Thank You soooo much for this most informative blog. I am looking for a dropship company that will do what Doba claims it will do, but I want a legit company. So if anyone knows of one and has tested it for its legitimacy, please email

    Thank You For Your Valuable Time
    Mr.D

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *